Kik has been designed to give you full control over who can send messages to you.
Here's some quick tips to help you manage your account:
Choose a username that's hard to guess. A combination of letters, numbers and some special characters is the best.
The people you share your username with will be able to send messages to you on Kik.
Sharing your username somewhere like Twitter, Instagram or Facebook will make it visible to people you might not know - and they'll be able to message you.
Use our 'Block' and 'New People' features to manage messages from contacts and new people.
You can read more about the privacy features that are built-in to the Kik app below.
Unlike many other smartphone instant messengers, which are based on a users' phone number, Kik uses usernames to identify our users. Your unique username is your identity on Kik.
If you haven't registered your Kik account yet, choose a username that's hard to guess. The best usernames include a combination of letters, numbers, and some special characters, and ideally shouldn't be your first and last name.
By using a username instead of a phone number, your personal information (like your phone number and email address) is not shared by Kik. In addition, only people that you choose to share your username with (either directly or by turning on the optional Address Book Matching feature outlined below) will be able to contact you on Kik.
If you're an active user of other social apps and sites, you might choose to share your username on those sites to connect with your followers there. Remember that posting your username somewhere like Twitter, or Instagram, etc., will make it publicly available. This means that people you don't know will be able to send messages to you.
Address Book Matching
The Kik app includes an optional Address Book Matching feature that you can turn on to help find your friends on Kik. The feature works by checking for accounts in Kik that match an email address or phone number stored in your address book (on your smartphone). If we find a match, we'll notify both you and your friend with a Kik message.
Choosing not to turn on the optional Address Book Matching feature will mean that only users who you choose to share your exact username with will be able to send messages to you.
Kik's 'Block' feature allows you to block all contact with another user, without revealing to the other user that they've been blocked.
Blocking someone on your smartphone or iPod means that messages from the blocked user will be hidden, and all chats with this person will be deleted from your Kik app. The blocked user's name will no longer appear in your list of contacts in Kik.
The New People feature gives you full control over who you talk to. With the latest version of Kik, any messages from new people go into your ‘New Chats’ section and you have the option to either start a chat with them or to delete, block, or report as spam.