Your Kik messages are stored locally on your device (right in the Kik app). We don't see or store any of your chats, and so we aren't able to provide you with a copy of your messages.
Even though we don't store your messages, you'll still be able to see all the chats you had in your conversation list before you logged out. If you see "Nothing Yet" as the message preview to a chat in your conversation list, it means that there are no messages between you and that friend in the chat. Once you start chatting with a friend the "Nothing Yet" preview will disappear.
There isn't currently a way to save or backup your Kik chats. Depending on your device, you can screenshot the parts of your chats you’d like to save. It’s also possible to use a second device to take a picture of a chat as it appears on your screen.
If you haven’t recently logged out of, or deleted Kik, your recent chat history will be saved on your device.
On your iOS device:
- For recent chats you've had in the last 48 hrs, you'll see the last 1000 messages.
- For older chats, you'll see the last 500 messages.
On your Android device:
- For recent chats you’ve had in the last 48 hrs, you'll see the last 600 messages.
- For older chats, you'll see the last 200 messages.