How do I report a group or someone in a group on Kik?

If you've received unwanted messages in a group, you have the option to ‘Report’ either: specific users within the group or the group as a whole. Similar to reporting a user in a one-to-one chat, you’ll also have the option to include the group’s chat history.

 You can report a specific user within a group by following these steps:

  1. In the group chat, tap the profile picture of the user sending these unwanted messages
  2. Tap Report
  3. Choose from the following:
    1. I don’t want them to be in this group
    2. They’re spamming this group
    3. They’re using this group for abuse
  4. You can check off/on the option to include the chat history in your report
  5. Tap Report and Block

I don’t want to be in this group: you would report a group for this in instances where you no longer want a user to be part of a group. 

They're spamming this group: you would report a user for this in instances where they're spamming your group chat with spam links/spam bots. 

They're using this group for abuse: you would report a user for this in instances where you're receiving abusive or harassing messages from the user within the group.

 

You can report the entire group by following these steps:

  1. In the group chat, tap the Group Name > at the top of the chat
  2. Tap the three vertical dots icon in the top right corner of the Info screen
  3. Tap Report Group
  4. Choose from the following:
    1. I don’t want to be in this group
    2. This group is offensive
    3. This group is being used for abuse
  5. You can check off/on the option to include the chat history in your report
  6. Tap Report

I don’t want to be in this group: you would report a group for this in instances where you no longer want to be part of a group. 

This group is offensive: you would report a group for this in instances where the group members are being offensive (i.e racist, sexist, cyber bullying, homophobia, etc). 

This group is being used for abuse: you would report a group for this in instances where it’s being used to harm other group members, or is distributing inappropriate content. 

NOTE: When you report a user in a group they will automatically be blocked, but will remain in the group with you. Any messages from that user will appear as ***Blocked Message***. When you report the entire group, you won’t be removed from the group. You can choose to leave the group by going into the Group Info screen and selecting Leave Group. Blocked users can’t add you to a group chat.

 

Was this article helpful?

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact Us